Bodywel D6 vs D9 (2026): Which Fat Tyre E-Bike?

Bodywel comparison · European specification · Updated for 2026

The short answer is simpler than the model numbers suggest. Choose the Bodywel D6 if you prefer a conventional frame, its documented bottle/accessory mount and do not specifically need a stated 4.5-inch display. Choose the Bodywel D9 if a lower central frame opening and a published 4.5-inch display matter more. Their headline published specifications largely match: both list a 250W Bafang rear-hub motor and 75Nm claim with a removable 48V 15Ah battery described as using Panasonic cells, 26 × 4.0-inch Kenda tyres and hydraulic disc brakes. At XVELO, both are €1,099 after the €200 BW200 discount.

Document-based comparison: XVELO sells both models and may earn revenue from a purchase. We have not completed a matched road test; performance figures below are published claims, not our measurements.
Same €1,099 checkout price · different rider fit Choose the frame and cockpit—not an invented performance winner Each link routes through XVELO’s Shopify discount page, applies BW200 to the shopping session, then opens the selected bike. Confirm the €1,099 total at checkout.
Updated: 7 September 2026 Reading time: about 17 minutes Document-based EU specification comparison
Evidence and commercial disclosure

XVELO sells both bikes and may earn revenue when a reader buys either model. That commercial relationship is why this guide separates published specifications, manufacturer claims, transparent calculations and editorial inferences instead of presenting sales copy as test data.

We checked the current XVELO listings against Bodywel’s D6 and D9 product and support pages. We have not ridden the two bikes back to back, and we did not find a matched independent comparison that could support a road-performance winner. Recommendations are therefore conditional: they explain which documented design better fits a stated need.

Quick verdict: Bodywel D6 or D9?

For a traditional-frame preference

Choose the Bodywel D6 if…

  • you prefer a conventional, higher-top-tube frame shape;
  • you do not specifically need the D9’s published 4.5-inch display;
  • a dedicated bottle-holder or small frame-bag mounting point is useful;
  • silver or black suits your preference; and
  • you are comfortable with the same headline motor, battery, brake and tyre specifications published for the D9.
For a lower frame opening and larger stated display

Choose the Bodywel D9 if…

  • you mount and dismount frequently in traffic or during errands;
  • you prefer a lower central frame opening that may require less leg lift;
  • you want a 4.5-inch high-resolution display;
  • you prefer the model whose product page more prominently documents its display and app-based ride data; and
  • black or red suits your preference.

Our specification-based recommendation: choose the D9 if a lower central frame opening and clearly documented 4.5-inch display solve a real need for you. Choose the D6 if you prefer its conventional frame, simpler display emphasis and bottle/accessory mounting point. This is not a declaration that either bike rides, climbs, brakes or lasts longer. On the available evidence, there is no responsible performance winner.

What the evidence can—and cannot—tell us

A useful comparison does not require an influencer verdict, but it does require clear evidence boundaries. This guide uses four evidence levels so you can see where each conclusion comes from.

Published specification

Information shown on current XVELO or Bodywel pages, such as motor rating, battery voltage and capacity, tyres, weight, frame style and display size. Publication confirms what is being represented for sale; it is not independent verification.

Manufacturer claim

Performance or durability figures that need controlled testing, including 75Nm torque, up-to-90km range, IPX5 protection and more than 80% battery capacity after 500 cycles.

Transparent calculation

Arithmetic that readers can reproduce, such as 48V × 15Ah = 720Wh and illustrative range scenarios based on stated watt-hours per kilometre. These calculations are not road-test results.

Editorial inference

A limited conclusion drawn from documented design: for example, the D9’s open step-through area requires less leg clearance than the D6’s higher top tube. Whether that difference matters depends on your body, clothing, luggage and routine.

Not yet verified by a matched XVELO test

Actual range, hill-climbing speed, acceleration, motor noise, braking distance, ride comfort, wet-surface behaviour and long-term durability. Until those are tested under the same rider, route, tyre pressure and weather conditions, this article will not award a winner in those categories.

What is the difference between the Bodywel D6 and D9?

The two bikes share far more than they separate. Bodywel publishes the same 250W Bafang motor, 75Nm torque figure, 720Wh battery capacity, 90km maximum pedal-assist range, 25km/h assisted speed, speed sensor, 26 × 4.0-inch Kenda tyres, adjustable RST front suspension, hydraulic disc brakes and Shimano 7-speed drivetrain for both.

The decision therefore comes down to three practical differences:

  1. Frame access: the D9 is a true step-through fat tyre e-bike; the D6 uses a more conventional frame silhouette.
  2. Display presentation: the D9 product page explicitly highlights a 4.5-inch high-resolution screen and Bluetooth ride data. The D6 presents essential speed, distance, battery and assist information; Bodywel’s D6 support page also documents Tuya app pairing by Bluetooth, so app connectivity is not a defensible D9-only claim.
  3. Small ownership details: the D6 publishes a reserved bottle-holder/accessory mounting position, while the D9’s clearest documented structural distinction is its lower frame opening, which may make mounting easier for some riders.
The honest comparison in one sentence

D6 versus D9 is primarily a frame-and-interface decision, not a contest between two different motors or batteries.

Bodywel D6 vs D9 specifications

Evidence key: “Published specification” means a value listed by Bodywel or XVELO; “manufacturer claim” has not been independently verified by XVELO; “calculated” means arithmetic based on published inputs; and “editorial inference” means our interpretation of a documented design difference.

Published Bodywel D6 and D9 specifications checked in September 2026
Category Bodywel D6 Bodywel D9 Documented takeaway Evidence status
XVELO price checked €1,299; €1,099 with BW200 €1,299; €1,099 with BW200 Same XVELO checkout target XVELO price / promotion
Frame style Conventional frame Step-through frame D9: lower frame opening Published + editorial inference
Motor 250W Bafang brushless rear hub; higher-output mode also referenced 250W Bafang brushless rear hub; higher-output mode also referenced Same headline rating Published specification
Published torque Up to 75Nm Up to 75Nm Same published claim Manufacturer claim
Battery 48V 15Ah / 720Wh, removable, described as using Panasonic cells 48V 15Ah / 720Wh, removable, described as using Panasonic cells Same headline capacity Published + calculated Wh
Claimed PAS range Up to 90km Up to 90km Same claim; real range untested Manufacturer claim
Assisted speed 25km/h published EU setting 25km/h published EU setting Same published setting Published specification
Pedal sensor Speed sensor Speed sensor Same listed sensor type Published specification
Tyres Kenda 26 × 4.0-inch fat tyres Kenda 26 × 4.0-inch fat tyres Same listed tyre format Published specification
Front suspension Adjustable RST fork Adjustable RST fork Same listed fork format Published specification
Brakes Front and rear hydraulic disc brakes Front and rear hydraulic disc brakes Same listed brake type Published specification
Drivetrain Shimano 7-speed Shimano 7-speed Same headline gearing Published specification
Display Colour display with core ride information; size not stated on reviewed listing 4.5-inch high-resolution display D9: larger specified display Published specification
App connectivity Tuya app/Bluetooth documented on Bodywel’s D6 support page Bluetooth and app ride-data tracking documented on the product page Both documented; not independently paired Official documentation
Bike weight 36.8kg including 4.15kg battery 36.8kg including 4.15kg battery Same listed weight; both heavy to lift Published specification
Recommended rider height 165–190cm 165–190cm Same published range; fit still needs checking Manufacturer guidance
Maximum payload 120kg 120kg Same published limit Manufacturer claim
Frame / water rating AL-6061 aluminium / IPX5 AL-6061 aluminium / IPX5 Same published material / rating Published + unverified claim
Utility equipment Lights, mudguards, rear rack, bottle/accessory mount Lights, mudguards, rear rack D6: additional documented mount Published specification

Figures are current seller/manufacturer information checked on 7 September 2026, not matched laboratory results or confirmation that delivered components are identical. Component supply and regional configuration can change; verify the product page, order confirmation and delivered labels before riding.

D6 conventional frame vs D9 step-through frame

The clearest documented frame difference is the D9’s lower central opening. By design, a lower opening may reduce the leg lift needed to mount or dismount, but XVELO has not measured step-over height or tested either bike with different riders, clothing or rear-rack loads.

The D6 uses a conventional frame silhouette, which some riders may prefer visually. The available documentation does not establish an advantage in handling, frame stiffness, speed or off-road capability. Both product pages publish the same 190cm overall length and 120cm wheelbase.

A step-through frame also does not automatically make the D9 the better option for every shorter rider. Bodywel gives both models the same 165–190cm recommended height range; the published minimum saddle height is approximately 88cm on the D6 and 90cm on the D9. Check inseam clearance, saddle reach and handlebar position rather than relying on the words “step-through.”

Do the Bafang motors make the D6 or D9 better on hills?

The published specifications do not establish that either bike is better on hills. Both are listed with a 250W Bafang brushless rear-hub motor and an up-to-75Nm torque claim. Because the reviewed pages do not identify the exact motor model, controller tuning or test method, these figures cannot establish acceleration, hill speed, efficiency, noise or reliability. The Bafang name identifies the published motor supplier; it is not a substitute for comparative test data.

The 75Nm figure should not be converted into a claimed gradient, cargo capability or climbing speed. Actual hill performance will depend on rider and cargo mass, gradient, tyre pressure, battery charge, temperature, gearing and the delivered controller setup. Both bikes are documented as using a speed sensor rather than a torque sensor, but the way assistance feels has not been tested here.

Some product wording references output up to 800W or an unlockable higher-power mode. That must not be treated as the normal public-road specification. The central EU pedelec exclusion refers to continuous rated power not exceeding 250W, assistance that stops when pedalling stops and output that progressively reduces and cuts off before 25km/h. A 250W/25km/h product headline covers only part of the legal and technical assessment and does not itself prove road legality. Any throttle or unlocked mode can change the vehicle’s classification, so check the delivered configuration, Declaration of Conformity and rules in the country where the bike will be used.

Motor evidence verdict

The two bikes have the same headline published motor rating and torque claim. That supports no documented winner; it does not prove that their real-world motor performance is identical.

Bodywel D6 vs D9 battery and real-world range

Both bikes are listed with a removable 48V 15Ah battery described as using Panasonic cells. Multiplying the published voltage by amp-hours gives 720Wh of nominal energy. This transparent calculation compares the stated capacity; it does not verify usable energy or the delivered pack.

The phrase “Panasonic cells” identifies Bodywel’s stated cell supplier, but it does not document the exact cell model, grade, completed pack construction, BMS or production batch. Pack assembly, charger design, sealing, storage and after-sales support also affect safety and lifespan. Bodywel states that the battery retains more than 80% capacity after 500 charge cycles; this remains a manufacturer durability claim rather than an independent test result.

Bodywel claims up to 90km in pedal-assist mode for both D6 and D9. That is a manufacturer maximum, not a guaranteed commuting range. Actual distance can change with rider and cargo mass, assistance level, speed, stops, climbing, surface, tyre pressure, wind, temperature, battery age and the reserve left at the end of a ride.

How to estimate range once measured consumption is available

Divide measured usable battery energy in watt-hours by measured energy use in watt-hours per kilometre. XVELO has not measured either input on these bikes, so this article does not turn the 720Wh headline into a predicted kilometre range. The only model-specific range number currently available is Bodywel’s unverified up-to-90km claim.

Although the two bikes carry the same headline battery, weight, tyre and motor specifications, that does not prove equal real-world range. It only means the available documentation does not support naming a range winner. Choose using the documented frame and interface differences, and treat the published 90km figure as an unverified maximum claim.

The core hardware is tied. Which ownership experience fits you?

Consider D6 for the conventional frame and published accessory mount, or D9 for the lower frame opening and clearly documented 4.5-inch display. Both links route through Shopify to apply BW200 automatically; verify the final total at checkout.

Fat tyres, front suspension and mixed-terrain comfort

Both bikes are listed with 26 × 4.0-inch Kenda fat tyres and an adjustable RST front fork. The specification confirms that the tyre and fork formats match; it does not show how much vibration either bike absorbs or how stable, quiet, grippy or comfortable either feels on asphalt, cobbles, gravel, sand or snow.

Four-inch tyres can, depending on tread, construction and pressure, involve more rolling resistance, steering effort and road noise than narrower commuter tyres. The front fork and tyre volume are intended for uneven surfaces, but neither published specification lists rear suspension. No technical-trail, jump or downhill capability should be inferred from the component list alone.

Comfort verdict: no documented winner. Actual comfort, steering feel and control remain untested and will also depend on fit, saddle preference, surface and tyre pressure.

Hydraulic disc brakes and Shimano 7-speed gearing

Both D6 and D9 are listed with front and rear hydraulic disc brakes. The reviewed documentation does not provide matched rotor, caliper, lever-force, heat-management or braking-distance data. We can therefore report the brake type, but cannot compare stopping distance, modulation, consistency or lever feel.

Both bikes are listed with a Shimano 7-speed drivetrain. Without confirmed sprocket tooth counts, a delivered-component check and a ride test, the documentation does not establish climbing range, shift quality or low-speed feel. Follow the supplied manual for gear-changing and motor-use guidance.

Before the first ride, check wheel security, tyre seating and pressure, brake lever feel, rotor alignment, lights and all fasteners. Bed the brake pads in a controlled traffic-free area and never continue if braking feel changes unexpectedly.

D9 4.5-inch display vs D6 ride information

This is the clearest documented equipment difference for the D9. Its product page specifies a 4.5-inch high-resolution display, Bluetooth communication and app-based tracking of key ride data. Riders who value a larger at-a-glance screen are more likely to appreciate that interface.

The D6 listing documents the essentials—speed, battery state, distance and pedal-assist level—but does not state the display size. Importantly, Bodywel’s D6 support page says the bike can pair with the Tuya app by Bluetooth to start the bike and track data. The evidence therefore supports a clearer display-size specification for the D9, not an exclusive-connectivity claim.

Neither app nor screen size gives the D9 more battery capacity or motor torque. Treat the interface as a convenience and data feature, not a performance upgrade.

Which is better for commuting, fit and daily storage?

For riders who specifically prefer a lower frame opening during frequent stops, the D9 may be the more suitable layout; XVELO has not tested repeated mounting, low-speed handling or either bike in city traffic. Both models list front and rear lights, mudguards and a rear rack. The D6 also lists a mounting point for a bottle cage or compatible small accessory.

Neither model is light to lift. Each is listed at 36.8kg, measures about 190cm long and does not fold. Removing the listed 4.15kg battery leaves an estimated 32.65kg to lift, assuming the published figures refer to the same configuration. Measure stairs, doors, storage space and vehicle loading height before ordering.

Bodywel publishes a 165–190cm recommended rider-height range and a 120kg maximum payload for both models. These figures do not prove fit for an individual rider. Check inseam, saddle-height range, reach and handlebar position, and confirm with the seller whether the payload figure includes luggage, accessories and rack cargo.

Bodywel D6 and D9 price: both €1,099 with BW200

At the 7 September 2026 XVELO snapshot, both bikes are listed at €1,299. The BW200 discount removes €200, bringing either model to €1,099 when the promotion is eligible and active. If checkout confirms the same final price, the decision can focus on documented frame, display and accessory differences rather than price.

The product links in this guide use Shopify’s discount redirect format. When opened, each link applies BW200 to the browser’s shopping session and then redirects to the correct D6 or D9 product page. You should still confirm that the discount appears and that the final total is €1,099 before payment; stock, market eligibility and promotion terms can change.

Do not compare only the headline discount

Confirm the exact colour, delivered configuration, warranty terms, delivery country and checkout total. A €1,099 bike that does not fit your mounting, storage or local-road requirements is not the better value.

Which Bodywel fat tyre e-bike should you buy?

Document-based selection guide—not comparative ride-test results
Rider or route Conditional choice Documented reason or limitation
Frequent stops, errands and city traffic Consider D9 Its lower frame opening may reduce the leg lift required; repeated mounting has not been tested.
Riders who want less leg lift when mounting Consider D9, subject to fit Lower central frame opening; exact step-over, saddle height, balance and individual mobility still need checking.
Traditional mountain-bike-style frame preference Consider D6 Conventional frame silhouette.
Largest clearly documented display Bodywel D9 Its product page explicitly specifies a 4.5-inch high-resolution screen.
Bluetooth ride tracking Both documented D9 highlights it on-product; D6 documents Tuya pairing in official support.
Bottle cage or small frame accessory Bodywel D6 Published reserved mounting position.
Maximum battery range No documented winner Same 720Wh headline capacity and up-to-90km claim; real range has not been tested.
Hills and motor assistance No documented winner Same nominal 250W rating and up-to-75Nm claim; real climbing performance is untested.
Gravel, cobbles, sand or light snow No documented winner Same listed tyre and fork formats; grip, control and comfort on these surfaces are untested.
Daily stair carrying Caution for both Each is listed at 36.8kg, or approximately 32.65kg after removing the listed battery weight.
Rider below 165cm or above 190cm Neither without a fit check Outside the shared published height range.
Best price with BW200 Same current price Both are €1,099 after the current €200 discount, subject to checkout verification.

What should you know before buying either bike?

  • They are heavy: both are listed at 36.8kg; assess whether that lifting weight is manageable for your storage and transport.
  • The 90km range is a maximum claim: high assistance, hills, cold, soft ground, load and low tyre pressure can reduce it substantially.
  • Both use a speed sensor: assistance responds differently from a torque-sensor bike that measures pedal force.
  • Fat tyres have costs: they can involve more drag, noise and replacement bulk than narrower tyres, depending on construction, tread and pressure.
  • Front suspension is not full suspension: neither should be marketed as a technical downhill or jumping machine.
  • IPX5 is not permission to submerge or pressure-wash: protect electrical connections and follow the care instructions.
  • Published specifications cannot establish road legality: verify the delivered 250W/25km/h configuration, Declaration of Conformity, throttle behaviour and local rules; do not assume an unlocked or throttle mode is permitted on public roads.

Bodywel D6 vs D9 FAQ

Which is better, the Bodywel D6 or D9?

Based on the documentation alone, neither model is universally better. Consider the D9 if you prefer its lower frame opening and specified 4.5-inch display; consider the D6 if you prefer its conventional frame and documented accessory mount. Real-world range, climbing, braking, comfort, handling and reliability have not been comparatively tested.

What is the main difference between Bodywel D6 and D9?

The D6 uses a conventional frame and lists a bottle/accessory mount. The D9 uses a step-through frame and explicitly lists a 4.5-inch high-resolution display with Bluetooth app-based ride-data tracking. The reviewed D6 listing does not state a display size, but official support documentation also describes D6 Bluetooth/Tuya connectivity.

Is the Bodywel D9 more powerful than the D6?

Not according to the current published specification. Both list a 250W Bafang brushless rear-hub motor and up to 75Nm of torque. There is no defensible power winner without a controlled test.

Do Bodywel D6 and D9 use the same Panasonic battery?

Both are listed with the same 48V 15Ah / 720Wh headline specification and cells described as Panasonic. The reviewed documentation does not identify the exact pack model, cell model, BMS or production batch, so it does not confirm that delivered battery packs are identical.

Are Panasonic battery cells a good reason to buy a Bodywel e-bike?

The cell-brand claim is one data point, not proof of completed-pack quality, safety or lifespan. Verify the delivered pack label, certification and warranty; pack design, assembly, BMS, charger and after-sales support also matter.

Is a Bafang motor better than a generic e-bike motor?

The brand name alone does not establish better hill performance, efficiency, noise or reliability. The exact motor model, controller tuning, delivered configuration and service support would need to be identified and, for comparative performance claims, tested.

How far can the Bodywel D6 or D9 go in real use?

Real-world range has not been established for either bike. Bodywel claims up to 90km in pedal-assist mode from the listed 720Wh battery, but XVELO has not measured usable battery energy or route consumption. Rider and cargo mass, assistance level, speed, stops, gradient, surface, tyre pressure, weather and battery condition can all change the result.

Which is better for hills, Bodywel D6 or D9?

The available documentation does not support naming a hill-climbing winner. Both publish the same nominal 250W motor rating and up-to-75Nm torque claim, but matching headline figures do not prove matching real-world climbing performance.

Which Bodywel bike is better for commuting?

If a lower frame opening suits your mounting preference, the D9 may be the more convenient layout for frequent stops. That is a geometry-based inference, not the result of an urban ride test. Both list lights, mudguards and a rear rack, and both carry a listed weight of 36.8kg.

Is the Bodywel D9 better for shorter riders?

Not automatically. The step-through opening reduces top-tube clearance, but both models carry the same 165–190cm recommended rider-height range, and the published D9 minimum saddle height is not lower. Check inseam, reach and saddle position.

Can the Bodywel D6 and D9 be used on public roads in Europe?

The published specifications alone cannot establish road legality. Although 250W and a 25km/h assistance limit are relevant to the central EU pedelec framework, assistance behaviour, throttle function, delivered configuration, Declaration of Conformity and national rules also matter. Verify the bike as delivered; do not assume an unlocked or throttle mode is permitted on public roads.

How do I get the Bodywel D6 or D9 for €1,099?

Use one of the XVELO links in this guide. It routes through the Shopify discount path, applies BW200 to the shopping session and opens the chosen product. Confirm that €200 is removed and the final bike price is €1,099 before payment.

Do both the Bodywel D6 and D9 connect to an app?

Current official documentation describes app connectivity for both. The D9 product page foregrounds Bluetooth ride-data functions, while Bodywel’s D6 support page documents pairing the D6 with the Tuya app. The D9’s clearly specified 4.5-inch screen—not exclusive app access—is the safer distinction. XVELO has not independently paired either bike or verified the current feature set on a delivered unit.

Sources, commercial relationship and open questions

XVELO is the retailer for both products and may earn revenue from a D6 or D9 sale. This page was prepared as a document-based buyer’s guide, not a hands-on review. Sources were checked on 7 September 2026; product pages, regional configurations, prices and promotions can change.

If sources conflict, this guide flags the discrepancy rather than averaging figures or selecting the largest claim. Bodywel’s official D6 and D9 installation videos can help explain assembly, but they are not independent reviews and were not used as evidence of ride performance.

Questions still requiring delivered-bike checks or controlled tests

Exact motor model and controller tune; exact battery cell and pack batch; usable battery energy; real range; acceleration and hill speed; braking distance and heat performance; tyre grip; motor noise; ride comfort; water ingress; app behaviour; component substitutions; and long-term durability. This guide should be updated on the same URL when matched test data becomes available.

Final choice: D6 for a conventional frame, D9 for a lower frame opening

Both models carry the same headline published motor rating, battery capacity, brake type and tyre format. Those matching claims do not prove equal real-world performance. Make the final choice from confirmed fit, frame-access, storage, accessory and display preferences.

Back to blog